I promised that I would post on the topic of Christian community; however, I will postpone that topic a little bit longer due to two things:

1) I really want to have a concrete idea on what to speak of and what to speak about when it comes to Christian community and I don’t want to simply put something together quickly just to throw something up here.

2) Given this, I don’t have the amount of time necessary to focus on the topic of Christian Community. Nevertheless, I do want to continue writing on simpler (if we can call them that) topics or at least post some thoughts on what I have been reading.

I have been continuing reading “War is a Force That Gives Us Meaning” by Chris Hedges. Even though I don’t intend to comment much on the following quotes, I still want to post them for the sake of thought provoking. If they are in any way intriguing, I recommend you acquire or check out the book. It is a very interesting and worth read.

“War exposes the capacity for evil that lurks not far below the surface within all of us. And this is why for many war is so hard to discuss once it is over.” (3)

“War makes the world understandable, a black and white tableau of them and us. It suspends thought, especially self-critical thought. All bow before the supreme effort. We are one.” (10)

***However…

“The poison that is war does not free us from the ethics of responsibility. There are times when we must take this poison–just as a person with cancer accepts chemotherapy to live. We can not succumb to despair. Force is and I suspect always will be part of the human condition. There are times when the force wielded by one immoral faction must be countered by a faction that, while never moral, is perhaps less immoral.” (16)

“The only antidote to ward off self-destruction and the indiscriminate use of force is humility and, ultimately, compassion. Reinhold Niebuhr aptly reminded us that we must all act and then ask for forgiveness. This book is not a call for inaction. It is a call for repentance.” (17)

War is a Force That Gives us Meaning by Chris Hedges (2002)

