“I now realize how true it is that God does not show favoritism but accepts men from every nation who fear him and do what is right.”
Acts 10: 34-35

Those moments of “peace.”

I consider myself a pretty busy individual. I wake up around 0430 am (0450 on a good morning) and make my way to physical training with the ROTC program and NC State University. After that I make my way back home, shower, grab a bite to eat, and hopefully–hopefully–catch about an extra thirty minutes of napping before heading off to carry out that day’s chores, class, and unfinished homework, etc. After these are done I head back to my house (across the road from East Campus) and try to put something together for dinner. After that the day winds down until time to do some homework and then go to sleep. Along with this I will hopefully find the time to call my wonderful girlfriend and make sure she knows that I’m not ignoring her but that I’m actually pretty frustrated with how busy my life is. There. That’s a regular week day in my life.

Nevertheless, there are these random moments of “free time” and boredom in which I find the moments to think about life and be, for once, intellectual. These are hopefully times of physical rest and of mental reflection. However, there have been a number of times in which boredom becomes a tool of the enemy for evil purposes. One particular weakness I have is the utilization of my boredom and free time to think about how rough and tough my life is sometimes: this mindset and train of thought sometimes leads to minor episodes of depression, anxiety, and stress.

It’s hard to think of myself as the type of person who suffers from anxiety and stress because I have never been that person before. I have always been the administrative, executive, time manager type who has most things in order and well timed. But I believe that as my life becomes more and more martial, more military-centered, it’s become a challenge to re-integrate all aspects of my life into one. Suddenly my academic life combines with my military life which combines with my spiritual life which ends up affecting my relationships with family, friends, and beloved ones. It is at those times in which I can come close to simply giving up.

The truth is that in all those times moments of weakness (mine being anxiety and stress), God has always been faithful to step in—through others or the Holy Spirit–and rescues me from the brink of going into dark places. Honestly, it’s humbling when God steps in to rescue me because as I have grown older I have come to realize how much more and more I need Him. I need God. God’s presence in my life is an essential part of my existence because He is Life itself.

________

It’s all crazy.

The crazy thing about God, and His Grace which comes to the rescue in the most interesting of moments, is that He doesn’t need us. I know: it’s crazy. God, in His three persons, is able to exist by Himself without any sort of external support or source of energy. He worships Himself and brings Glory onto Himself through the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. To make matters crazier, He has his angels, seraphim, and cherubim to worship Him 24/7 (eternally, actually, since there is no concept of physical time regarding God’s nature).

Yet, in all His greatness, God found it (and continues to find it) wonderful and beautiful and loving to rescue us from our self-inflicted darkness. Needing nothing outside Himself, God sent the second person God the Son, to the physical world to bring the news of God’s Kingdom, restore mankind to God by carrying our sins at the cross, and bringing us into eternal harmony with God by starting and continuing the process of sanctification that begins when we accept Him, Jesus Christ, as our Lord and Savior.

Yes, it’s sound crazy. And yet it is true and it is all beautiful.

_______

Jesus.

Why? Why do we need Jesus? Why can’t we simply exist outside or without the idea or concept of God or a Savior?

Personally, I believe mankind needs the idea of God and a Savior. Honestly, I believe that God placed within our psyche a dire need to know and to believe there is a God. Atheists and agnostics are simply individuals who are living in denial of a beautiful God, have fallen so low into darkness they are lost in their own little world, or have been scarred in such a terrible manner that they have decided it is God’s fault–their lack of belief is their way to taking revenge on God.

However, that’s a topic for another post.

We need God and we need Jesus because we are messed up. We live in a messed up, corrupt, evil, misled, fallen, dark, bad, nasty, gross, and unjust, an unrighteous world into which God the Son was born into human form, as Jesus Christ, to rescue us from the darkness we brought unto ourselves through our pride. Don’t believe me? Just take a look into the world and if you tell me that you don’t notice the need for s Savior (even in the smallest of proud evil acts like cutting someone off on the road) then you are living in denial.

Our very own consciousness and existence and status quo demands redemption. The truth of the matter is that we currently live in a state of rejection in which we rejected God as our Father and Lord and, therefore, have come under a “state of rejection” in which our fallen nature is out to get us. Not only is that the case but the Bible states that:

“For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God.

We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time.” (Romans 8:20-22)

______

The Savior of the Rejects.

Yet, there is hope. There is hope for redemption in the man-God Jesus Christ.

There is a solution to the state of stagnation and the cyclical nature of mankind’s history. Needing nothing from us and being self-sufficient in Himself, God found it within His will to rescue us from ourselves. Why? Because God is Just, Righteous, Wrathful, and yet He is Loving and Beautiful. Maybe that’s why something choose to reject God–maybe He is too abstract or complex for some men and women so they just choose to deny all that He is.

If you honestly asked why God decided to save us I would say to you that it’s because He Loves us. Why does He love us? I honestly don’t know. But it takes real love to sacrifice God the Son at the cross in order to save us bunch of rejects. Jesus, the Son of God, came into this world to be the savior of the rejects. He is God’s open invitation to an ever-lasting state of redemption in the arms of God.

Doesn’t that sound literally incredible and just unbelievable? To some it’s just too hard to believe. Nevertheless, Jesus sits at the right hand of God the Father waiting for the rest of mankind who hasn’t answered the call of redemption to come to Him and be restored–to be transformed into something greater and more beautiful than what we were in the beginning.

Jesus: the God of the Unlovable and the Savior of the Rejects.


